Blog: Let me eat toast!

La Peinture

Only weeks in Belgium and I’m already riding on the back of scooters with oversized baguettes. It was so easy to embrace the French lifestyle… even though I’m not really able or confident enough to speak French to pretty much anyone.  But at some point I feel that carrying giant bread on a two-wheeled death trap is all I need to be ‘in’.

And that very large baguette was amazingly delicious. As of right now, I basically have a strictly pâté, cheese, and bread diet. I honestly don’t know how the French are so skinny. And the croissants! Oh the croissants! It doesn’t matter if they’re from the bakery or gas station, they’re all so delectable! Mmm the soft butter soaked insides and honey drizzled outsides. I can’t get enough! *takes moment to wipe drool off of keyboard*

Other than constantly stuffing my face, I’ve been exploring the beautiful cities of Belgium. The first being Brussels and when I laid my eyes on the European capital it was love.  It is wonderful and remarkable. Wonderful and remarkable, and I can easily find an English speaker unlike in the city where I am currently living in Liège.

It’s not really good for my French to have a crutch so easily accessible, but it’s nice not having the constant anxiety that a stranger will try talking to me and I will panic, not knowing what to do other than to play possum. And I think I’m a little too old for that. Although Brussels is a nice relief, it’s more like my side piece. I get to spend the days there, where I get to have all kinds of escapades, but in Liege I have my little tiny apartment that I adore. It sits on top of a mountain and is just minutes away from stunning views of the entire city. That is what I want to wake up to in the morning.

I love the little thing, but it’s taking some work to get rid of the old and bring in the new. The previous tenant left a couple of golden nuggets behind, especially one shocking landscape screwed into the bedroom wall. Maybe he thought he was leaving a gift, but I took it and a burning bag of poop… one I can’t get rid of. Below is a link to the ad I created for it. I’m trying to sell it on a second-hand site, but oddly enough I haven’t gotten any interest.

http://www.2ememain.be/antiquités-art/art/peintures/peinture-à-recherche-d-une-nouvelle-301849809.html

But hopefully by the next time I post someone will have taken the horror off my hands.

Leave a Reply

